DDPAI · Dash Cams
DDPAI Z100 Series review: 3.6/5 from the spec sheet
New release Announced Oct 29, 2026 — DDPAI Z100 Series First Look: F1.0 Variable Aperture and 197-Foot Plate Legibility
Dual 4K recording powered by dual Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 sensors, featuring an industry-first F1.0/F2.0 variable aperture and a secondary 2K telephoto lens for long-range plate capture.
Fits: Universal 12V/24V vehicle input compatible with most passenger cars, trucks, and SUVs worldwide.
Not on Amazon yetASIN not listed yet
average of 5 criteria
Score is calculated from the manufacturer's published specifications. BaniCar has not handled this unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.
Verdict
On paper, the DDPAI Z100 Series sets a new optical benchmark with dual STARVIS 2 IMX678 sensors, variable aperture, and a dedicated 2K telephoto lens for long-distance plate identification. Drivers seeking the ultimate camera hardware should keep it on their radar, but shoppers needing confirmed US pricing, supercapacitor temperature ratings, or multi-year warranty backing should hold off or consider established alternatives.
Pros & cons
Pros
- Dual 8MP Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 sensors powering front and rear 4K recording
- Smart variable aperture switches between F1.0 for low light and F2.0 for bright glare
- Dedicated 2K telephoto lens with 4x+ optical zoom captures plates up to 60 m (197 ft) away
- Integrated Dock combines 4G, GPS, and power routing into a single mount
Cons
- US MSRP and general retail availability not yet published
- Operating temperature range and power component (supercapacitor vs battery) not stated on the spec sheet
- Standard manufacturer warranty is limited to 12 months
- Exact lens field of view (FOV in degrees) is not disclosed
Best for
- Night commuters and highway drivers wanting maximum license plate legibility at long distances
- Vehicle owners who want 4G cloud alerts and parking surveillance integrated into a single dock mount
Specifications (as published by DDPAI)
| Resolution | Dual 4K (front wide + rear) plus 2K telephoto on Z100 Master |
|---|---|
| Image sensor | Dual Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8MP) front and rear |
| Lens aperture | Smart variable aperture F1.0 to F2.0 (front wide); 4x+ optical zoom / 86mm equivalent (front telephoto) |
| Field of view | Front wide covers 4 lanes (degrees not published) |
| License plate range | Up to 60 m (197 ft); effective visibility up to 100 m (328 ft) |
| Hdr | 3-channel HDR |
| Connectivity | Integrated Dock with 4G and GPS modules |
| Parking mode | 24/7 parking monitoring with abnormal impact detection and real-time alerts |
| Operating temperature | Not published |
| Power source | Not published |
| Storage | U3 MicroSD recommended (maximum capacity not published) |
| Voltage input | 12V/24V universal compatibility |
Key specs: Dual 4K Recording · Dual STARVIS 2 IMX678 · F1.0/F2.0 Variable Aperture · 2K Telephoto (4x+ Zoom) · Integrated 4G/GPS Dock · 3-Channel HDR
Frequently asked questions
What makes the Z100 Master's DualFocal camera system unique?
According to DDPAI's published specifications, the front setup combines a 4K wide-angle lens covering four lanes with a secondary 2K telephoto lens (4x+ optical zoom, 86mm equivalent). This telephoto optic is designed to resolve license plates at distances up to 60 meters (197 feet).
How does the smart variable aperture work?
The front wide lens automatically alternates between F1.0 and F2.0. The F1.0 setting lets in up to 3.2 times more light on dark roads compared to fixed F1.8 glass, while F2.0 increases suppression of harsh midday sunlight by 1.23 times.
What warranty does DDPAI provide?
DDPAI publishes a 12-month (1-year) warranty for purchases made through its official store, with support responses within 24 to 48 hours.
Compare with
Opens Amazon.com in a new tab. Amazon price and availability are not shown here.
Sources
- DDPAI Z100 Series Launch Press Release (Yahoo Finance / GlobeNewswire) (accessed Oct 29, 2026)
- DDPAI Official Store Homepage (accessed Nov 1, 2026)
- DDPAI Official Store Z Series Collection (accessed Nov 1, 2026)
- DDPAI product page
Evidence type: published specs (no hands-on). Last updated Nov 1, 2026.